Tradition returns with Hall of Fame

Sport Albury Wodonga re-establishes Festival of Sport Hall of Fame

FLASHBACK: Australian kayaking champion Tony Zerbst with Dianna Ley and Michale Briant. Zerbst was the last inductee into the Festival of Sport Hall of Fame in 2004.

It’s been 16 years since an inductee was named in the Albury Wodonga Festival of Sport Hall of Fame, but that hiatus is set to end.

The Sport Albury Wodonga committee has announced the re-establishment of the prestigious award, which recognises locals who have represented Australia at an international level or excelled at an open event.

After first launching in 1995, the Hall of Fame has seen 72 members inducted and is open to not only athletes, but umpires, coaches and officials.

“The Sport Albury Wodonga committee felt it was really important to establish this highly regarded honour,” Sport Albury Wodonga vice-president Greg Featonby said.

“We need the community and sports clubs assistance in sourcing those local high achievers so we can induct another 10 people into the Hall of Fame.”

The criteria for induction requires the sportsperson to have represented Australia at an open international level, to have won an Australian recognised event at an open level, or have been recognised as an Australian champion in an open event, while coaches and referees must have done so at an open international level.

The awards night will be held on Saturday November 20 at the Commercial Club in Albury.

Committee members hope to invite the current Hall of Fame members and their families.

“If you can make contact with Sport Albury Wodonga we can add your details to the invitation list,” Mr Featonby said.

Nominations close September 30, with more information on the SAW website.


Sourced – Border Mail, 6th July 2021